Sacred Path of Light

For Pagans and Non-Pagans Everywhere.


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» Drawing Down the Moon
Fri Jan 27, 2017 9:40 pm by xShadowx

» The Minor Arcana: The Wands
Fri Feb 05, 2016 12:31 pm by xShadowx

» The Minor Arcana: The Coins
Wed Feb 03, 2016 1:38 pm by xShadowx

» The Minor Arcana: The Cups
Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:31 pm by xShadowx

» History of Wicca
Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:35 pm by xShadowx

» Salem Witch Hysteria
Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:34 pm by xShadowx

» The Minor Arcana: The Swords
Fri Jan 22, 2016 4:39 pm by xShadowx

» Introduction to the Minor Arcana
Fri Jan 22, 2016 4:37 pm by xShadowx

» FYI: Book of Shadows in E-book Format
Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:12 pm by xShadowx


free forum

Most active topic starters

free forum

You are not connected. Please login or register

Seven Classical Planets of Astrology

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 Seven Classical Planets of Astrology on Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:07 am

The seven classical planets are those easily seen with the naked eye, and were thus known to ancient astrologers. They are the Sun, the Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. Sometimes the Sun and Moon were referred to as “the lights” or the “luminaries”. The astrological descriptions attached to the seven classical planets have been preserved since ancient times. Astrologers call the seven classical planets “the seven personal and social planets”, because they are said to represent the basic human drives of every individual. The personal planets are the Sun, the Moon, Mercury and Venus, while the social, or trans-personal, planets are Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. Jupiter and Saturn are often called “trans-personal” or “transcendent” planets as they represent a transition from the inner personal planets to the outer modern, impersonal planets. The following is a list of the planets and their associated characteristics.

The Sun
The Sun is the planetary ruler of Leo and is exalted in Aries. In Greek and Roman mythology, the Sun is represented by Apollo, the God of light. The Sun travels through the twelve signs of the Zodiac on its annual journey, spending about a month in each. The Sun's position on a person's birthday therefore determines what is usually called his or her “sun” sign. Astrologically, the Sun is usually thought to represent the conscious ego, the self and its expression, personal power, pride and authority; leadership qualities, and the principles of creativity, spontaneity, health and vitality, the sum of which is named the “life force”. In modern astrology, the sun is the ruler of the fifth house (creativity). The Sun is associated with Sunday.

The Moon
The Moon is the ruling planet of Cancer and is exalted in in Taurus. In Roman mythology, the moon is represented by Diana, the Hunter Goddess. Astrologically, the Moon is associated with a person's emotional make-up, unconscious habits, rhythms, memories and moods, and their ability to react and adapt to those around them. It is also associated with the mother, maternal instincts or the urge to nurture, the home, the need for security and the past especially early experiences and childhood. In modern astrology, the Moon is the ruler of the fourth house (home base). The Moon or Luna is associated with Monday.

Mercury is the ruling planet of Gemini and Virgo, and is exalted in the latter. In Roman mythology, Mercury is the Messenger of the Gods, noted for his speed and swiftness. Astrologically, Mercury represents the principles of communication, mentality, thinking patterns, rationality and reasoning and adaptability and variability. Mercury governs schooling and education; the immediate environment of neighbors, siblings and cousins; transport over short distances; messages and forms of communication such as post, email and telephone; newspapers, journalism and writing, information gathering skills and physical dexterity. Today, Mercury is regarded as the ruler of the third (physical plane area) and sixth (work) houses. Mercury rules over Wednesday.

Venus is the ruling planet of Taurus and Libra, and is exalted in Pisces. In Roman mythology, Venus is the Goddess of love and beauty, famous for the passions she could stir among the Gods. Astrologically, Venus is associated with the principles of harmony, beauty, balance, feelings and affections, and the urge to sympathize and utilize with others. It is involved with the desire for pleasure, sensuality, personal possessions, comfort, and ease. It governs romantic relations, marriage and business partnerships, sex, the arts, fashion and social life. Venus is the modern ruler of the second (material plane) and seventh (other people) houses. Venus is the planet of Friday.

Mars is the ruling planet of Aries and, in traditional western Astrology, Scorpio, and is exalted in Capricorn. Mars is the Roman God of War and Bloodshed, whose symbol is a spear and a shield. Astrologically, Mars is associated with confidence and self-assertion, aggression, sexuality, energy, strength, ambition, and impulsiveness. Mars governs sports, competitions and physical activities in general. In modern Astrology, Mars is said to rule the first (physical body) and eighth (sex and sexual intimacy) houses. While Venus tends to the overall relationship atmosphere, Mars is the passionate impulse and action, the masculine aspect, discipline, will-power and stamina. Mars is associated with Tuesday.

Jupiter is the ruling planet of Sagittarius, and also the ruler of Pisces. It is exalted in Cancer. In Roman mythology, Jupiter is the ruler of the Gods and their guardian and protector, and his symbol is the thunderbolt. Astrologically, Jupiter is associated with the principles of growth, expansion, prosperity and good fortune. Jupiter governs long distance and foreign travel, higher education, religion and the law. It is also associated with the urge for freedom and exploration, humanitarian and protecting roles, and gambling and merrymaking. Jupiter is said to be the ruler of the ninth (development of the mind) and twelfth (suffering and self undoing) houses. Jupiter is associated with Thursday.

Saturn is the ruling planet of Capricorn and Aquarius, and is exalted in Libra. In Roman mythology, Saturn is the God of agriculture, founder of civilizations and of social order, and conformity. Astrologically, Saturn is associated with the principles of limitation, restrictions, boundaries, practicality and reality, crystallizing and structures. Saturn governs ambition, career, authority and hierarchy, and conforming social structures. It concerns a person's sense of duty, discipline and responsibility, and their physical and emotional endurance during hardships. Saturn is also considered to represent the part of a person concerned with long-term planning. The Return of Saturn is said to mark significant events in each person's life. In modern astrology it is accordingly the ruler of the tenth (the public eye) and eleventh (friendship and acquaintances) houses. Saturn is associated with Saturday.

View user profile

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum